Stay Connected:     Join our Facebook page   Follow us on Twitter   Subscribe to our YouTube channel
   
Thursday, 17th August 2017

AUC Expectations vs Reality: A Freshman’s Perspective

Posted on 06. Oct, 2015 by in General, Opinion

AUC Expectations vs Reality: A Freshman’s Perspective

@BrotherWord

 

The moment we first set foot on campus, we all had our expectations of the American University in Cairo. We’ve all heard the rumors of course; the typical AUC stereotypes we were ready to come across. The young guys and girls who got more allowance in a week than a normal working adult earned in a month, the “daddy’s girls” geared with their Louis Vuitton and their Gucci, their nails polished to perfection, and the boys with their latest edition BMWs, only to park them at a disco, ready to party all night. At one point, there was even a rumor that there was a salon on campus to salvage all the hair emergencies that might occur when at university.

To say that the students of AUC have an infamous reputation would be an understatement. Throughout the summer before I started college, there were a few trademark reactions I would always get when I told someone I was to attend AUC. “What does your father do for a living?”, “I heard that it is all fun and games and you do not learn anything at all”, “Doesn’t AUC accept anyone?” or simply an up and down examination of my current outfit to see if I fit the criteria (I usually did not). These reactions annoyed me greatly and I felt people were judging me and my efforts in a wrong and biased light. It also got me even more scared to face what was yet to come on the battlefield known as college.

As I stepped foot onto campus, I was surprised to see most people looked quite… normal? From what I could see, people seemed very down to Earth and sociable. During FYE I met tons of amazing people I could see myself being friends with. Of course there were the Barbie girls I had heard so much about, but with a puff of smoke of their cigarette and a downward glare, they disappeared as quickly as they had come. I suffered through hours of very threatening lectures on academic integrity and plagiarism, yet all the same I found the experience enjoyable even with the overwhelming amount of information given to us in just three days. The people I met all seemed to be worried about the  things I was worried about. We were all confused as to which way we should let this university take us, whether it is our friends, our major, or even which food we would be eating on campus. It made me dizzy thinking of all the choices I would have to make each day.

On the last day of FYE, there was the club fair. I had no idea what to expect, but this certainly was not it. I had a mission to get to Cinnabon from my starting point near Cilantro where my friend was waiting for me. Without any exaggeration it took me an hour to walk a distance that would usually take a minute. With every step I took, an AUCian spotted me and like some sort of mix between a perky cheerleader and a vulture, grabbed hold of me, only to give me a 10 minute explanation on what exactly their club is about and for 10 minutes I would try very hard not to get distracted by the deserts I could see getting passed out a few feet in front of me.

My first few days as an official college student, I had caught wind about the news that the rest of the university was playing a game called “spot the freshman”. Honestly, I was intimidated by the big bad older students that wanted to bully us poor newbies, and I was convinced that I had to hide my freshman status and fit in, especially during the first few days. As it turned out AUC proved to be a confusing maze where I seemed to always end up in places where I was worried I would be kidnapped. It only took me a day to figure out that I would rather be an easy-to-spot freshman then a never-to-be-spotted again freshman.

Even though I’ve only been an AUCian for about a month, I can see myself evolving as I take in my new surroundings and the people around me who were far from what I expected. I know I will probably learn tons of life lessons throughout my time here, but my very first was to ignore rumors and stereotypes and keep an open mind. What you see might surprise you.

Once Upon A Freshman Year

Posted on 06. Oct, 2015 by in Editorial, General, Opinion

Once Upon A Freshman Year

memory_bubble

 

As we all know, the first time of anything new is always the hardest. Naturally, our first day in university should have been difficult for all of us. However, I have a very strong belief that mine was the worst of all! Despite my fish memory and the fact that the day was about a year ago, I can still remember it like it was yesterday.

Not only was it my first day in college, but it was also my first day wearing retainers after enduring braces for the whole senior year at high school. At the beginning of the day, I did not mind the lisp that unintentionally came out of my mouth from this inhumane device, until the moment I opened my schedule on the banner. It felt like I was in the middle of nowhere with nothing but a map written in hieroglyphics, and above all that, I could not even ask anyone for help! What would anybody think if they saw a freshman hurriedly asking where she could  find the “ESH ESH EE” building or “SHEE Fouwteen” class?

To be honest, I think that the whole first week was quite unsuccessful. When I look back to that time, I keep wondering why I was so embarrassed of being unable to speak normally or of getting lost. Maybe because we all had the impression from high school that when we step in university, we should be the “cool” students who knew everything and never asked for help. After one year, I can say that I deeply regret missing the opportunity to have a laugh about my temporary lisp and how I could have socialized from the very first day. I also regret being that dedicated to finding my classes quickly. It would have definitely made priceless memories if I got lost or even accidently entered the wrong class!

During our journey in life, we go through lots of different phases. Some phases might look or feel embarrassing. However, no matter what you feel, just enjoy each and every phase as much as you can, even if it is freshman year. Ask for directions, get lost and do not be ashamed of asking about anything that comes to your mind. After all, you are not a freshman every year!

 

Farida Eid

The Perks of Having an AUC Email

Posted on 23. Sep, 2015 by in Opinion

The Perks of Having an AUC Email

(more…)

17 Moments Potterheads Will Relate To

Posted on 08. Mar, 2015 by in Opinion

17 Moments Potterheads Will Relate To

 

1- Walking across campus rocking a Hogwarts Crest T-Shirt

10797838

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You know, and those silent nods of approval you get from fellow Potterheads.

 

2- Holding the books in the library

anigif_original-grid-image-5806-1420480937-6

 

 

 

 

 

 

You’ve read the books a gazillion times but you still feel the need to hold the ones in the library for a little while, and maybe sniff them a bit.

 

3- Befriending people just because they’re Potterheads .. No questions asked

large

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It usually goes like this: awkward smile, Harry Potter reference, omg flipping joy, omg you got the reference, another Harry Potter reference, friendship.

 

4- Being seriously jealous of someone’s phone case

jealous-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

WHERE DID YOU GET THIS?

 

5- And Deathly Hallows Necklace

200_s

 

 

 

 

 

HEAVY BREATHING

 

6- Murmuring spells under your breath

Hermione-PrincipeMestizo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I mean Lumos, Alohomora, Accio, Obliviate, and if you’re around an angry Potterhead you might hear the occasional Petrificus Totalus.

 

7- Not finding Butterbeer on the menu

blog-zap2it (1)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hello Cilantro? Coffee, Mocha frappé, Butterbeer what’s so hard about that?

 

8- Seeing someone with a Harry potter ink

images

 

 

 

 

 

9- You can never lend people your class notes to photocopy.

funny-textbook-doodles-5 (1)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Just go through our notebooks, I bet you’ll find the deathly hallows symbol, quotes and lightening bolts all over the place. We even scrawl over the text, so good luck photocopying that.

 


10- HP references in class

book-broom-cute-girl-Favim.com-688893

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“What an idiot” is always on the top of your list of snarky comments.

 

11- And witty comebacks

images (1)

 

 

 

 

 

12- Always using Hermione to prove your point.

images (2)

 

 

 

 

Do I need to say more?

 

13- Blabbering about Pottermore

images (3)

 

 

 

 

Where were you sorted? What’s your wand core? How long? Did you brew that potion? Did you solve the riddles?


14- And serious discussions

images (4)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

15- Also the dirty side looks you get

tumblr_inline_mzkj8xPxXe1r8pwjw

 

 

 

 

 

Yes I’m a college student who’s obsessed with HP and always will be, problem buddy?

 

16- People getting confused when we tell them they should never tickle a sleeping dragon.

images (5)

 

 

 

 

 

Draco Dormiens Nunquam Titillandus, obviously.

 

17- It’s real for us

 

 

..لمن لا يعرف المطر

Posted on 21. Feb, 2015 by in Arabic, Opinion

..لمن لا يعرف المطر

10405295_1096607833687764_5711268520562567884_n

المطر جميل

..أتذكر صوت أمي تناديني لأدخل المنزل فالأمطار اليوم غزيرة و قلبي الصغير لن يحتمل ضيف السماء العزيز.. تصرخ و تحذرني: الأمراض قادمة لا محالة

.أذن من طين و أخرى من عجين.أسمع و لا أكترث فالمطر جميل المنظر و حسن الأثر. جو البلدة الذي إعتدته مليئاً بالتراب و العفار أصبح أنظف من أي وقت كان

دخلت البيت قهراً نتيجة لقوى السلطة الأبوية. و لكنني ظللت أمد ذراعيّ القصيرتين خارج شرفة البيت ،الذي أصبح حينها سجناً، سعيداً سعادة نسبية بقطرات المطر و هي ترتطم بهما في شعور لا تصفه كلمات

حقاً إن حب الأطفال للمطر لا تصفه كلمات

 

المطر يحميني أحياناً

.أشعر بالتعب ينال مني. درس الرياضيات اليوم و لا أريد الذهاب للمعلم ثقيل الظل. أعرف أن عليّ الذهاب اليوم و لكنني فقط لا أستطيع. نحن بشر لنا قدر معين من الإحتمال

.الويل للثانوية العامة التي تجعلنا نرضخ لإرادة تلك الكائنات المزعجة..و لكن المطر يحبني لذا يريد إراحتي اليوم و حسب

“إنها تمطر و المعلم لن يجد من يعلمه اليوم..أتخيله أمامي يصيح غاضباً “فلوس دروس يوم كامل طارت..أم المطرة على أم الشتا

.و لأن المطر يحبني، فهو يريدني أن أنجح لذا قرر ألا يزورني في ثانوية عامة إلا نادراً حتى لا يثنيني عن دراستي التي تميزت فيها بالكسل الواضح

.أنت لا تزعجني أيها المطر..مدرس الرياضيات هو من يزعجني بالفعل

 

المطر..دموع السماء

.أسير راجعاً للمنزل، هائماً على وجهي بعد أن تم إغلاق الباب في وجهي من قبل الفتاة التي أحببتها بحق. كنت كارهاً للحياة و ما بها

.ربما أكثر ما كرهته في تلك الحياة وقتها هو أنا

لا أعي نفسي و لا أنظر أمامي..فقدت الإحساس بما حولي و بما يدور في عقلي من أفكار و ما يسكن قلبي من مشاعر. أدركت حينها حقاً كلمات الشاعر البليغة حين قال “شارب الخمر يصحو بعد سكرته ، و شارب الحب طول العمر سكران”. إن الحب بالطبع يفقدنا الإحساس بكل شيء حولنا

.بينما أسير في تلك الحالة من الصدمة جاءتني هدية عظيمة من فوق..من السماء تحديداً

.إنها تمطر.. السماء تبكي لأجلي و تحزن لما أمر به، المطر يخبرني أن كل شيء سيصبح على ما يرام و أن الحياة مليئة بصدمات شبيهة

:لم أتمالك نفسي أمام هيبة الموقف ، فقط نظرت إلى السماء حيث سكنى العليّ فهو يعرف كل شيء و يرى كل شيء من هناك و قلت له نصاً

“وصلت يا رب…وصلت”

كم أحبك أيها المطر.. أنت تقربني لله

 

مطر كل الأجيال

..إنها تمطر الأن

لم أنزل اليوم للقاء المطر.. السلطة الأبوية لا تزال تتمتع بقواها الجبارة بالإضافة إلى النظرة الإجتماعية في البلدة و التي لن تجعل شاباً في التاسعة عشر من عمره يلعب تحت المطر تحت أي ظرف  كان

لكنني الآن أستطيع الوقوف في الشرفة و أخرج رأسي خارجها لمقابلة الصديق العزيز..كم هو شعور رائع

أرى الآن أطفال الجيران و هم يلعبون تحت (مع) المطر و يقولون “يا نطرة رخي رخي”

“أبتسم لهم و أحييهم ثم أدخل لغرفتي في المنزل و أنا أغني “يا مطرة رخي رخي

10 Ways To Spend Valentine’s Day if You’re Single

Posted on 14. Feb, 2015 by in General, Opinion

10 Ways To Spend Valentine’s Day if You’re Single

Yet another year of spending Valentine’s Day without a partner, but this time spice up your day and make the best of it for yourself without needing any special someone. Also, never forget you’re one of those who don’t have to buy gifts, or expect ones that turn out to be horrendous, so cheers for having some spare cash in your pocket. Anyway, fear not, this list might be just what you need.

 1. Movies

Whatever happened to going to the movies with your single besties? Gather up your friends and go have a movie marathon and stuff your face with popcorn! If cinemas don’t sound appealing, you can always download a few on your laptop, connect it to your TV, order takeout and have it at your place.

 2.Get something done

 Remember that assignment you procrastinated last week? Or that chore your mom asked you to do but never did? When was the last time you cleared out your wardrobe and drawers? Whether it’s doing volunteer work, planting a tree somewhere as a thanks to the environment, helping around the house, practicing a hobby or doing things you ought to be doing. Well, get moving and do all the things you’ve wanted to do!

 3. Go paint-balling

This is by far one of the best and most fun things you can ever do. Grab some friends, and try it out. It’s okay if you’ve never tried it before or don’t know how it goes, you will probably be told everything you need to know there, and it’s an experience worth your while.

4.Go/Try somewhere/something new

This includes eating at a new restaurant, going on a Nile cruise, or just going to places you haven’t been to before. Did you try the GMAX reverse Bungee in Mall of Arabia? No? You probably should. Also, there are many cafes in old Cairo, and a lot to see in museums and such places. You can always attempt going there by different transportation methods if you don’t own a car.

 5.Buy yourself something

It doesn’t have to be something super expensive, but treat yourself nevertheless. It could be a new pair of beats or even something as small and nice as candy. Be creative!

6.Exercise

 Hit the gym and try out some aerobics, or do some cardio warming up at home, or even take a dancing or yoga class. Any sport activity will make you feel better about yourself, and who knows, you might even like it enough to do it again on other days!

 7.Have a BBQ party

Whether it’s outdoors or at your place, with your family or with friends, BBQs are BBQs. Blast some music, fill that icebox with drinks, prepare cocoa and marshmallows, light a fire and get grillin’!

8.Video Games

 Video games are a lot of fun. If you’re not a fan of COD, Fifa or even a gamer at all, try letting a pro friend teach you how to play and see if you’ll enjoy it!

 9. Surprise someone

Go through your circle of friends, and you’ll find that at least one of them is facing a problem of some sort, make their day and surprise them with something that would put a smile to their face, or try to help them out with anything that they’re facing. If you don’t have such a friend, surprise your parents with a dinner for the two of them, or do anything that would cheer them up.

 10. Make a list

 Lastly, sit with yourself or with a group of friends and write down all the beautiful things about being single. You can write a list each, and compare your them when you’re done. Trust me, you’ll find a lot.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

images

عندما إرتدى الرسول “الأحمر”.. عن “يوسف” و زارعي الفتنة

Posted on 29. Dec, 2014 by in Opinion

1451506_10200142514565399_255066532_nديسمبر 2009

يسمونه في الغرب المتوحش “أفضل وقت في العام” .. نعم ، لقد جاءت نهاية العام

آخر أيام السنة..العالم كله يحتفل بأعياد الميلاد المجيد..أشجار الأرز المزينة بالزينة الملونة و الأضواء المبهجة منتشرة في جميع أنحاء العالم.. صورة المذود الذي يحتضن المسيح بذاته و أمه القديسة ..مريم  تغزو مواقع الإنترنت و بطاقات الأعياد في كل مكان..بابا نويل بزيه الأحمر ، جسده السمين  ،  ضحكته الطيبة و عربته بغزلانها الطائرة تتملك من قلوب الناس عموماً و الأطفال خصوصاً

يبدو المشهد سعيداً..أليس كذلك ؟

 ..في بلاد تدعى “مصر” تعرف بين شعبها بـ ” أم الدنيا” كان الإعلامي “عمرو أديب” يقدم برنامجه “القاهرة اليوم” كعادته

 ..في حلقة ذلك اليوم يستضيف “عمرو” شيخاً إسمه “خالد الجندي” ليحدثه في أمور الدين و ما شابه

من سوء حظ شيخنا الجليل أن طفلاً صغيراً يدعى “يوسف” إتصل بالبرنامج ليسأل الشيخ عن جواز الإحتفال بـ “الكريسماس” من عدمه..هل يجوز لأطفال المسلمين الإحتفال بعيد ميلاد المسيح و تلقي الهدايا من “بابا نويل” ؟

 ..ينتفض الشيخ و يرد

 “يرد الشيخ بأنه من الأفضل للطفل أن ينتظر الرسول “بابا محمد” في المولد النبوي الشريف ليعطيه الهدايا بدلاً من “بابا نويل

 “تعلو وجه “عمرو” نظرة من الدهشة فيناقش الشيخ “خالد

 .يعلل الشيخ رأيه بأن الإحتفال بذلك العيد نوعاً من أنواع التأثر بالغرب والتخلي عن الإسلام و أن الغرب أنفسهم لا يحتفلون بالفطر أو الأضحى حتى نحتفل نحن بالميلاد

 !يرى الشيخ أنه ليس من المناسب للمسلمين أن يحتفلوا مع المسيحيين بعيد الميلاد

لماذا أحكي تلك القصة القديمة و المعروفة ؟ لماذا أزعجك بثرثرة مر عليها أكثر من خمس سنوات؟

 ..حسناً سأخبرك

في كل عام تظهر لنا تلك الآراء “المحافظة”  التي تفسد عليَ بهجة تلك الفترة و التي تستنكر الإحتفال بعيد الميلاد مع المسيحيين لذات السبب الذي أقره الشيخ..هم لا يحتفلون بأعياد المسلمين لذلك لا    نحتفل معهم بأعيادهم

حقها و لا مش حقها ؟

 ..ربما يكون السبب منطقياً لحد كبير لكنه لن يكون كذلك بعد قليل

 ..كتبت قبلاُ عن علاقتي كمسيحي بالمسلمين -في مصر- من حولي و عن كيف أنها لا يمكن أن يصفها كلام فقط لسبب واحد هو أنني لا أعلم هل هي شديدة التعقيد أو أنها بتلك البساطة

 .كتبت أنها علاقة مختلفة..نحن نجمع على ذلك مسلمين و مسيحيين

ربما جمال تلك العلاقة المختلفة يكمن في إختلافها أساساً..ربما

ذلك هو وصف العلاقة الصحيح بين مسلمي و مسيحيي مصر..علاقة نادرة الوجود..هكذا كتب العبد لله

لذلك أردت أن أثبت أن ما قاله الشيخ خاطئاً تماماً و كذلك ما يتتبعه من آراء مماثلة إنتشرت في الفترة الحالية بشكل واضح للعيان .. في رأيي ، تلك الآراء هي في الحقيقة ليست إلا سبباً لتعكير صفو ماء لم يكن يحتاج ما يزيد تعكيره

 ..لقد نسى الشيخ الجليل فوانيس رمضان المعلقة في شرفات بيوت المسيحيين في الشهر الكريم

 ..تبخر من ذاكرته أن مسيحيي مصر أيضاً لا تفرغ بيوتهم من حلوى المولد النبوي الذي أراد من “يوسف” الطفل إنتظار “بابا محمد” فيه

 ..تناسى أن المسيحيين أيضا لهم نصيب في ذبيحة عيد الأضحى و في صيجان الكحك في عيد الفطر. وغيره و غيره

راجع مقالة ” “ماتصلي عالنبي يا عم”..مقتطفات من مذكرات مواطن مسيحي

ربما للشيخ وجهة نظر ما..لكنها وجهة نظر ضيقة لا ترى إلا ما تريد أن تراه..وجهة نظر ليست متحفظة بقدر ما هي متخلفة

 ..على جانب آخر

لأكون صادقاً مع نفسي و معك عزيزي القارئ..عندما  طرح الشيخ مبادرة “بابا محمد” التي لا أجد فيها ما يضير إطلاقاً ، لم أستطع فقط منع نفسي من تخيل شخص الرسول بالملابس الحمراء و  حقيبة الهدايا ليعطي يوسف هديته أثناء نومه ثم يرحل

 ..هل سيتخيل يوسف الطفل غير ذلك ؟ أشك

لقد أثبت الشيخ “خالد” قلة حيلته وضعف رده أمام سؤال الطفل الصغير معتقداً أنه يدافع عن الهوية العربية الإسلامية و هو يضع له إطاراً غربياً ليضع الرسول فيه -إطار “بابا نويل”. لم يكن الشيخ  يعلم حتى أن شجرة الأرز “شجرة الكريسماس” و التي تمثل رمزاً مهماً في الإحتفال بعيد الميلاد ، هي في الأصل معلم عربي أصيل و رمز عتيق لبلاد الشام حيث ولد المسيح

 “بالنسبة لـ”يوسف

هل سينشأ “يوسف” مواطناً صالحاً يحب مسيحيي بلاده و يحترمهم إن إستمع لكلام الشيخ ؟ أشك في ذلك فما يقوله الشيخ يتناقض تناقضاً تاماً مع الحب و الصلاح

 .إن خالد الجندي و أمثاله من قادة دينيين متعصبين هم بحق من يزرعون الفتنة بيننا..هم من يبنون بين شعب مصر سدوداً ستقع على رؤوسهم فيما بعد

 .هم من يجعلون من شعباً واحداً شعبين مختلفين بثقافتين مجتمعيتين مفترقتين

منذ صغري أخبرونني أن دين الإسلام دين حب و تسامح.. هل يمكن أن تظل فكرتي قائمة لو أنني إستمعت للشيخ و أخذت برأيه رأياً إسلامياً صحيحاً ؟

 ..إن الشيخ يريد السير بقانون “صباح الخير يا مسيحي يا جاري..إنت في حالك وأنا في حالي” و الذي أثبت فشله فشلاً ذريعاً في أرض الكنانة

نحن المصريين لا نحتمل تلك المعاملة..نحن بالعامية “عشريين” لا نترك أحداً في شأنه

لا تستمع إلى الشيخ يا “يوسف” .. نريدك بداية لجيل جديد قائم على المواطنة والمساواة و حب الآخر و إحترامه

 ..أما أنتم يا زارعي الفتنة

 ..إتركونا و شأننا و لا تمزقوا روابط قوية أتى عليها الزمن بما أتى..كفوا عن أفعال مشينة لا تتفق مع دين أو مذهب أو عقيدة

The Perks of Being an Egyptian Girl!

Posted on 29. Dec, 2014 by in Opinion

The Perks of Being an Egyptian Girl!

perks of being an egyptian girl

   Exploring the world is on everyone’s wish list. However, the situation for Egyptian girls is quite different. Sometimes, Egyptian girls cannot even freely discover their own country. They might be banned from many simple things such as outings and travelling even if it is within the borders of Egypt. This is because of overprotective parents who might end up treating their 19 year old children as if they are still nine. The situation has even intensified because of the unsafe conditions that followed the Egyptian revolution.

  When asking many girls about what transportation they use, they answer “we just take cabs behind our parents’ backs”. Yes, parents might not approve the outing if the transportation used does not fit certain standards; “You can’t use taxis, it has to be someone trusted who picks you up.” And if there is no one who can do that? The outing is cancelled for you. Moreover, the parents usually cannot afford to get the girl her own car, which makes these transportation limits absurd. Of course we cannot forget about the familiar curfew!

  Parents think that they are protecting their girls when actually they are depriving them from learning how to become independent and how to carry their own responsibility. Let’s make it clear that I am not talking about children; I am talking about girls who are in college including me.

   If girls are not allowed to go out with their friends, travel when they are young, learn to go to places on their own at this age, then when are they supposed to learn how to do so? Becoming independent is eventually going to happen, so why prevent it now? And if it doesn’t happen, then we will end up with 30 year old babies who cannot do anything for themselves.

  If we try to discuss the causes of this imprisonment, the main and only cause that the parents usually have is “the unsafe conditions after the revolution … do you want to get kidnapped?” But let’s see the real odds of that happening. It is true that Egypt has become quite unsafe after the revolution and that the rate of crime has significantly increased; however, this does not mean that life as we know it is over. People still go to their jobs, boys still go out until late at night and they all return mostly unharmed. It is not like we hear our parents, when they come back every day from work, telling us about the mission impossible they faced, or how many bullets they survived from. 

  We cannot deny that Egypt has become relatively unsafe after the revolution. However, this does not mean that the solution is to put unbearable limits on every girl’ move. The solution is to let everyone be free to handle their own responsibility.

   I am sure that if allowed to move freely, going to unsafe slums will not be the first thing that the girls think of!

الكورة

Posted on 08. Nov, 2014 by in Arabic, Opinion

“إيه اللي محببكم فيها ؟”1451506_10200142514565399_255066532_n

هذا هو السؤال المتكرر الذي تسمعه من والدتك الحبيبة و هي تختطف “الريموت” من بين يديك منعدمتي الحيلة لتغير القناة التي تعرض مباراة كرة القدم الخاصة بفريقك المفضل و التي كنت تتابعها بشغف شديد لتشاهد الحلقة رقم ألف و مئة و ثلاثة و تسعين من المسلسل التركي الذي يبدو أنه لا ينتهي. بالطبع ككائن صغير السن نسبيا يعيش تحت سقف بيت أبيه و أمه لا تملك إلا أن تستسلم للوضع الحالي.

لماذا نحب كرة القدم على أية حال ؟ سؤال مهم

و لماذا يُعرض المسلسل اللعين في موعد المباراة ؟ سؤال أهم ، أصعب و يحتاج لدراسة

لنبحث عن إجابة للسؤال الأسهل..لماذا نحب نحن الذكور أو معظمنا كرة القدم ؟

.في رأيي..حب كرة القدم أو كما نطلق عليها نحن المصريين “الكورة” حب رومانسي حقيقي لا يوجد عليه غبار

.نحن نحبها لأنها صريحة و مباشرة لا يوجد بها لف أو دوران..تحرز أهدافاً أكثر فتفوز

.لعبة سهلة تحتاج فقط لبضعة أفراد و كرة و لو حتى قديمة أو مهترئة و أربعة أحجار لتصنع منها مرميين و يبدأ اللعب

كرة القدم لا تخرج “الراجل اللي جواك” كما يخبرنا إعلان “بيريل” الشهير

..في رأيي إن كانت كرة القدم تخرج من داخلنا شيئاً ، فإنها تخرج الطفل الكامن فينا

لهذا نحن نحبها

أعشق ذلك الطفل بداخلي الذي يقفز من فوق الأريكة فرحاً عندما يفوز الزمالك بمباراة أو ببطولة و يا سلام عندما يكون هدف الفوز في الوقت القاتل

.عندها تبدأ عملية إغاظة الجماهير الحمراء و رد بعض الفضائل التي علمونا إياها

..هل تذكر عندما كان يفوز المنتخب الوطني بكأس أفريقيا و كنا نجري كالمجانين في أنحاء مصر كلها فرحاً

“أشعر الآن – أثناء كتابة ذلك المقال- بنفس شعور  “المبدع” أحمد موسى عندما قال : “هيييييييييح

..ليت المنتخب يعود يوماً

كرة القدم هي ما تشعرنا كمصريين أن تلك الدنيا لا تزال جميلة و بها فعلاً ما يستحق الحياة

هي تلك النشوة التي تنسينا هموم الحياة بما فيها لمدة لا تقل عن تسعين دقيقة

..كل شيء في كرة القدم له طعم خاص و مختلف

أهازيج الجماهير و تشجيعها و التي أسكتتها مؤخراً حكومتنا المصونة و أجهزة “الأمن” ، صياح الجماهير في الحكم عندما يحتسب قراراً خاطئاً ، إحتكاك اللاعبين بالخصم و بأرضية الملعب نفسها..إحتفالهم بالأهداف سواء كان برقصة غريبة ، وقفة مضحكة أو سجدة حمد للمولى ، تعليق معلقين معينين لهم لمسة سحرية تضفي على “الماتش” إثارة و متعة ، شيكابالا و أبو تريكة- الله يمسيهم بالخير-  و بالطبع إنقسام الجماهير بين الأهلي والزمالك مما يعطي مباراة القمة بين الناديين روعة و تشويق.

..كرة القدم متعة و أنت تلعب في شارع أو حارة بيتك

.فقط تستمتع و أنت تجري و جسدك يحترق كنار مشتعلة تحاول الوصول إلى المرمى الآخر

:تستمتع وأنت تصرخ لزميلك في الفريق

“باصي يابني..باااااصي”

.كرة القدم تعلمك أصول الإبتسام في وجه عدوك حتى و أنت تريد أنت تطرحه أرضاً في تلك اللحظة

.من أجمل الأشياء في كرة القدم أنها فن كالغناء مثلاً

“ليس من الضروري أن تكون مطرباً حتى تميز الصوت العذب و ليس من الضروري أن تلعب كرة القدم بنفسك لتفهم أصول اللعبة الحلوة”

أعتقد أن ذلك ينطبق عليّ بشكل كبير

.لا أخفيكم سراً ، العبد لله كان -و لا زال – دائماً الإختيار الأخير لفرق المدرسة في حصة الألعاب

لكن ذلك لم يمنعني من حب تلك الجميلة الذي إتفق على حبها ملايين من البشر الذين يتقنون لغتها..الكورة

“الكورة” لذة حقيقية و خصوصاً عندما تكون ذات طابع مصري..لابد أن تتذوقها

.أتمنى حقاً أن يغيروا ميعاد المسلسل

!لماذ تشفق على ملحد ؟

Posted on 10. Oct, 2014 by in Arabic, Opinion

1451506_10200142514565399_255066532_nربما تستغرب عزيزي القاريء من إعتيادية ذلك الموقف التالي و أسلوب روايتي العميق له و كأنه لحظة مهمة جداً تستحق التأمل و التدقيق. لكن دعني أذكرك أن سر قوانين الجاذبية تفاحة وقعت في يوم ما على رأس رجل متمدد تحت شجرة.

في يوم لا أتذكر له إسماً و لا تاريخاً.

إنتويت الذهاب مع أبي للعمل لأكسر ملل المذاكرة المتملك مني. إرتديت ملابسي و خرجنا من باب المنزل ثم وصلنا إلى الشارع الرئيسي

أمسك أبي يدي اليمنى و عبرنا الشارع معاً..ممسكاً يدي

لم أعلم لم فعل ذلك يومها..كانت أول مرة نعبر فيها الشارع معاً و بهذه الطريقة منذ مدة..كنت وقتها- ولا زلت- مراهقاً “شحطاً” يعرف كيف يعبر الشارع وحده و لكنه أمسك يدي حينها و لا أعرف لماذا !

كل ما أدركته في تلك اللحظة البسيطة و العميقة أنني لم أنظر ليمين الشارع أو ليساره كالمعتاد أثناء عبوره..سرت بجواره مطمئناً شبه مغمض العينين و كأنني أسير في طرقة بيتنا التي يمكن أن أعبرها كفيفاَ.

مادام أبي هو المسيطر..إذاً لن أقلق أو حتى سأنظر حولي..أنا مطمئن

فكرت في ذلك الموقف العادي جداً جداً و الذي تفوق إحتمالية حدوثه إحتمالية إطلاق مرتضى منصور للألفاظ الخارجة..لماذا كنت واثقاً تلك الثقة العمياء في أبي و لم أتلفت لشيء من حولي ؟

ببساطة لأنه أبي..أنا أحبه و أؤمن يقيناً أنه يحبني جداً و أنه لن يسمح لأحد أو لشيء بإيذائي أو مضايقتي. لأنني أثق به و في طريقة عبوره معي و كفاءته و خبرته الكبيرة جداً عني في معظم الأحيان

لأنني أعلم أن هناك قوة أكبر مني موجودة دائماً بجواري لتحبني و تحميني متجسدة فيه .

كل هذا ؟! آه كل هذا و أكثر

ذلك الشعور بالسلام والطمأنينة الذي شعرت به له إسم واحد فقط الإيمان.

هل فكرت في وجود الله ؟! بالتأكيد

هل شككت في وجوده أو أنكرته و أنت تفكر ؟ ربما..إحتمال يحتسب و إن كان في لحظات قليلة ضالة

تخيل معي عزيزي القاريء ألا تؤمن بأن الله موجوداً..أن تكون وحيداً في شارع الحياة المزدحم و المليء بالإضطرابات و تضطر للعبور وحدك بدون الرفيق الأعظم و الصديق الأفضل..بدون الخالق القدير

فقط فكر في كيفية كون ذلك الشعور أقوى و أعمق و أروع عندما يكون لديك ذلك الإيمان في من هو كلي القدرة و القوة الله سبحانه و تعالى مع مراعاة الفارق بالطبع بين الله و والدي لكن المبدأ واحد..الإيمان

بعيداً عن حتمية وجود الله بالنسبة للكاتب و بعيداً عن إيمانه و معتقده الخاص به أظن أنني أحزن على حال أصدقائي الملحدين من إعتقادهم بأن الله غير موجود.

تعتقد أنه لا يوجد إلهاً يراك أو يرعاك..

تعتقد أن كل الناس من حولك كافين بالنسبة لك لتعيش حياتك معهم. لكنه موجود..ذلك الفراغ الواضح الكامن بداخلك لا يمكن ملئه بفعل أو بشيء أو بشخص محدود مثلك هو الآخر بحاجة لأن يملأ ذلك الفراغ عنده.

الشخص الملحد لا يعرف أنه يوجد هناك الله الذي يحبه بكل ما فيه حباً أبدياً بدون شروط و في كل وقت و بكل أحواله و أخطائه..لا يعرف كيف أنه و إن تركه من يحبهم في الأوقات التي يحتاجهم فيها الله بذاته جواره هو الوحيد الذي يعرف أدق و أصغر تفاصيل أحاسيسه و مشاعره بدون حتى أن يذكرها..

إن كان هو الذي خلقني فهو يعرفني أكثر من نفسي

الملحد لا يشعر ذلك الشعور بالإمتنان للسماء عندما يحدث له أمراً سعيداً أو مفاجأة سارة..إيه يعني عادي ! فرحته موجودة لكن عادية. ليست بطعم فرحة المؤمن..من يؤمن بالله يدرك كم هو عظيم شعور الشكر و الإمتنان لمن يهديك كل تلك النعم و العطايا والواقف الجميلة..سعادة حقيقية.

البعيد عن الله لا يدرك تلك النعمة التي وهبها الله لمؤمنيه: أن يشعروا بوجوده معهم..

أن يتكلوا عليه عليه في كل صغيرة و كبيرة في حياتهم..أن يملأهم ذلك الشعور بالسلام و الطمأنينة و الأمان حتى و لو كان ذلك مجرد شعور لا أساس حقيقي له من وجهة نظر إلحادية

ذلك اليقين أو الإيمان بالله الذي تعرض كثيراً للشكوك و الهجوم قد يكون مجرد شعور نفسي وحسب في رأيك لكنه عند المؤمنين بالله أكبر بكثير من ذلك

لن تعرف ما لم تؤمن..

إن لم تمر بذلك الشعور قبلاً..فأنا لا أجد ما أقوله لك إلا أنني أشفق عليك جداً

ستضطر أن تعبر الشارع وحدك.